Saint Ann
(Tobique First Nation)


Church Location:
Address (Office):

Divine Mercy Website:
TFN Community Website:  

P.P.C. Chairperson:
P.E.A.C. Chairperson:

Eucharistic Celebration:

28 River Rd., Tobique First Nation, NB  E7H 3T1
    (Please do not send mail to the above address)
Saint Ann, c/o St. Mary of the Angels
44 Marian Dr., Perth-Andover, NB  E7H 3A7

Mrs. Marilyn Perley
Mrs. Jennifer Sappier

Sunday at 12:00 Noon

The Tobique Reserve is located on the north side of the Tobique River.The reserve comprises two lots: The Brother's #18 and Tobique #20. The reserve, established in 1801 with nearly 20,000 acres, was granted after a petition to the government by band members. Roughly two-thirds of members of the Tobique First Nation reside on the reserve lands.

The Maliseet Mission (as it was first called) was a mission of Van Buren, Maine from 1838 to 1850. The first chapel was built in 1853, and was ministered to from Saint-Basile.

Moments in the history of our parish
  • The church was destroyed by fire on November 10th, 1923.
  • A new church was built; its dedication took place on November 11th, 1925. It then received the name of Saint Ann's Parish.
  • On the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the parish, important renovations were made to the church.
  • On November 9th, 1975 there was a 50th anniversary celebration presided by the Most Reverend Fernand Lacroix, C.J.M., Bishop of Edmundston, followed by a banquet and social activities.
  • From 1924 to 1927, a group of nuns resided there and were involved in parish life: they were the Little Franciscans of Mary.
  • Then, from 1927 to 1985, the Sisters of Charity of Saint John replaced them in the same line of work: liturgy, religious education, visiting the sick, etc...
  • The first baptism took place on December 1st, 1924: John Joseph Sappier.
  • The first marriage took place on May 18, 1925: Gregory Saulis and Alice Tremblay.
  • The first Catholic School was built in 1923.
  • In 1989, the Franciscans left. Since then, there has been no resident pastor in the parish.
  • In 1991, the rectory was demolished.

Noteworthy organisations and events
  • Arts and crafts building
  • Swimming pool and picnic area along the Tobique
  • "New Cemetary":(Rodney Bear, the first to be buried, August 23, 1974)
  • Royal Canadian Legion (Nov. 11, 1974)
  • Official opening of the Mah-Sos School: November 8, 1975
  • Knights of Columbus: 3rd Degree Council ; 4th Degree Assembly
  • Maliseet Indian Youth Dancers and Chanters
  • Hospital (1924-1948)
  • Post Office: Br. Irenée Roy, O.F.M., asst. postmaster for 11 years, and postmaster for 31 years
  • A. A. (1974)
  • Al-Anon (1975)
  • Alateen (1975)
  • Labour Day Celebrations
  • Band Newsletter

Priests and Missionairies:
Fr. J. J. O.Leary
Fr. Michael O'Brien
Grand Falls Parish
Eudist Fathers residing at Maliseet
Fr. Frederick Ryan
The Franciscans

Tobique Band Chiefs, from 1862:
May 1862:
July 1, 1899:
July 24, 1911:
July 30, 1914:
July 25, 1917:
Aug. 4, 1920:
Sep. 4, 1923:
Aug. 28, 1926:
Oct. 2, 1929:
Aug. 15, 1932:
July 6, 1935:
Aug. 28, 1938:
Oct. 24, 1942:
Aug. 22, 1945:
Nov. 22, 1948:
Nov. 22, 1951:
Nov. 9, 1953:
Nov. 24, 1955:
Nov. 14, 1957:
Nov. 26, 1959:
Nov. 26, 1961:
Frank John Francis
Frank I. Francis
Frank Lockwood
Frank Francis
Frank Lockwood
John Solis
Solomon Bear
Charles Saulis
Noel P. Bear
Gabriel Perley
William Saulis
William Saulis
Peter Joseph Bear
William Saulis
William Saulis
William Saulis
Simon Perley
William Saulis
Philip Sappier
Philip Sappier
Raymond Tremblay
Nov. 27, 1963:
Nov. 29, 1965:
Nov. 29, 1967:
Nov. 29, 1969:
Nov. 29, 1973:
Nov. 29, 1975:
Nov. 29, 1977:
Oct. 16, 1978:
Nov. 29, 1979:
Nov. 29, 1981:
Nov. 29, 1983:
Nov. 29, 1985:
Nov. 29, 1987:
Nov. 29, 1989:
2001, 2003:

Raymond Tremblay
Charles Paul
Dennis Nicholas
Dennis Nicholas
Dennis Nicholas
Dennis Nicholas
Vaughan Nicholas
George Francis
George Francis
George Francis
David Perley
David Perley
David Perley
Stewart Paul
Stewart Paul
Stewart Paul
Edwin Bernard
Edwin Bernard
Patrick Craig Francis
Stewart Paul





Fr. Alexis Auger, O.F.M.
Fr. Raymond Pennafort, O.F.M., assistant
Fr. Bérard Nobert, O.F.M., assistant
Fr. Samuel Côté, O.F.M., assistant
Fr. Samuel Côté, O.F.M., assistant
Fr. Samuel Côté, O.F.M.
Fr. Gregoire Léger, O.F.M.
Fr. Norman Thibodeau, O.F.M.
   Brothers Irenée Roy, Michel Godbout and Grégoire Cormier were part of
   the Franciscan team between 1921 and 1989.

Fr. Pierre Thibodeau
Fr. Léo Grégoire, I.V.D.
Fr. Curtis Sappier
Parish Pastoral Team (Fr. Curtis Sappier, Moderator)
Parish Pastoral Team (Fr. Leo Grégoire, I.V.D., Moderator,
   Fr. Gilbert Doddatto, I.V.D., Seminarian Andrew Mayer, I.V.D.)
Parish Pastoral Team (Fr. Gilbert Doddatto, I.V.D., Moderator)
Parish Pastoral Team (Fr. Curtis Sappier, Moderator)
Parish Pastoral Team (Fr. Gilbert Doddatto. I.V.D., Moderator
   and Fr. Curtis Sappier, Assistant-Moderator)
Parish Animation Team (Fr. Gilbert Doddatto. I.V.D., Moderator
   and Fr. Curtis Sappier, Assistant-Moderator)


Sacred Wheel


Painting of Saint Anne,
Blessed Virgin Mary
and Child Jesus

Feast of Saint Ann


Kateri Tekakwitha


Bishop François Thibodeau, C.J.M.
with gifts from Saint Ann Parish

Reference: Souvenir book commemorating the 50th anniversary of the foundation of the Diocese of Edmundston, published by the Madawaska Historical Society Revue (Vol. XXIII, Numbers 1, 2, 3 and 4), 1995.

Photos: Jacques G. Albert, Jeanne d'Arc Cyr, Bishop François Thibodeau, C.J.M.

Note: The Diocese of Edmundston is not responsible for the content of external links.